Midnight Whispers
; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
Reviews For Blaze of Glory
Reviewer: Enohvee1875 (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2018 02:15 AM · On: Chapter 12

I am sad to see this story end because I hoped for a better future for Clone Justin or Brian going with him. Maybe one day you might consider gifting us readers a teeny tiny sequel? Loved your story and it deserves 5 stars.

Reviewer: tiger062 (Signed) · Date: January 19, 2018 02:24 AM · On: Chapter 12

Sad to see this end and sad there will be no more stories. I've always enjoyed your work. I think the ending was perfect if sad but with this sort of story with two honourable characters how could it not be. Love Brian's last line. But there is still hope and that's what keeps us all going. I hope there is a future, somehow, for them and perhaps after all the swimming, cycling, reading, watching movies, and fighting the good fight, the call to put 'pen to paper' or 'play with the computer keyboard' will be strong enough to see some more of your wonderful stories. If not, all that stuff sounds pretty awesome and lots of fun and isn't that a big part of living - to enjoy life? Thankyou for all the wonderful stories you have written over the years and I sincerely hope that one day I'll see your name on a new story - if you do and need a banner, I'll be happy to give it another go.

Reviewer: purpledee (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2018 09:40 PM · On: Chapter 12

Really enjoyed the story. You write very well.  I tend to only read stories when I see that they are finished, because I have started stories, got really into them only for them to become abandoned. So hence I review at the end.

Thanks for your writing.

Deb

Reviewer: 7wildwaysup (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2018 03:27 PM · On: Chapter 12
I want to thank you for writing this story, I loved it! My sister just gave me all 5 seasons of Orphan Black to watch for the first time, so I loved the clone aspect. I'm also a big fan of the resistance of Trump, that part was great too!

I understand how you feel about the lack of comments. I let it get me down this last year, and I pulled back from writing and posting. But I realized that I mostly write for myself, some stories just need to be written. I've been encouraged by other fangirls to feel positive when you see the read count.

I know this is my first comment, but I read it all the way through in one sitting. That being said, I read it one my iPhone, and I always have trouble leaving comments from my phone. I had to wait until I could use my computer. I hope you don't stop writing, or leave the fandom. I was so excited to see a new fic from you! Anyways take care, and know that we loved your writing... Hugs ~ Kathleen
Reviewer: hikinggirl70 (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2018 12:48 AM · On: Chapter 12

Loved the ending. Using the line "It's only time" was very cool. It makes us hope Brian will one day see his Justin again. 

A sequel would of been great. If you decide to do one then let us know.

Take care!

stories/1590/images/Brian-Justin4.jpg

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2018 04:17 AM · On: Chapter 12

I was actually surprised when I saw this was the final chapter... I had just somehow expected there was so much more to tell. (Or maybe it was wishful thinking?) But I don't disagree with the way it ended. Not every story can have a "happy-ever-after," ending. The edginess of this entire story didn't lend itself to that type of ending. If this were a sci-fi movie, this would be a set-up for a sequel.

I'm sorry this story is your farewell to the QAF Fandom... I know things have changed. I posted a video/report on LJ about a Randy appearance. I got 4 comments. But I still post and report on the events I see. I do it for me, which is what it all started out to be when I first discovered QAF. It kinda "blew-up," in the midst of the Fandom resurgence which seemed to happen when the series ended. But it has slowly faded over the years.

I have enjoyed reading all of your work. If I have to be honest, I am more than a little sad that there won't be more to come. But I wish you well and good luck in all your future endeavors. 

Trish



Author's Response:

Hi Trish,

Thanks so very much for reading this story, and sticking with it. I did anticipate that given the genre, there would not be a lot of takers, so to speak. I tried to give some hope in the ending to those who'd really be keen on a happy ending, but for me, personally, the ending had to be what it is right. Yoy are right; there is always the ability to write a sequel, but I know that I won't be doing that.

You've been amazing right throughout, and I have loved seeing reviews from you :) Thank you so much for your support and encouragement!

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2018 02:57 PM · On: Chapter 12

I was sad to see this story come to an end, Jessica. And while I had hoped the two of them could somehow stay together, I think I knew deep down it wasn't meant to be. 

I still feel SO sorry for Justin here. What a conundrum that is:  to be trained as a clone to do your job, but to also have feelings that color your every thought and move.  To have such a passion for art, and to be able to love someone; only to also know that you cannot fulfill those dreams.  I can't think of a more bleak situation.  But it was a realistic one. And that bucket list. You had me very emotional over that.  to have Brian insist Justin do that to give him the pleasure and joy that he knows Justin won't have in the future just shows how much he loved him. And that 18th one.  OMG.  How poignant.

I longed to see if perhaps there might have been a way some day for the two of them to meet again; if not in the Pitts, then in some other place. But I also know it's not meant to be.

This was a very unique story, and I enjoyed reading every word of it.  I'm sorry I won't have the opportunity to read more of your stories.  Perhaps one day; if not in this fandom, perhaps in another one (especially once the new site is up, and we open it up more to that).  Thank you at any rate for this story, and all the other ones you have posted.  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Kim!!!

You gave me a Blue Ribbon - thank you so much! I am honoured and humbled.

This was the ending that I had written out from the very beginning. And while I was open to changing the ending, it just did not feel right to do so. I felt that this ebding was the most authentic one, and, I hoped, that it would be open-ended enough to hope to the really positive and optimistic readers. I *SO* felt for Cloney, especially through the latter part of the story. The bucket list was hard; normally (at least these days) we see it in a far more positive context than the original movie that started that phrase. But in this story, it's Brian's desperate bid to do something nice for the man he loves.

Thank you so much for everything. You have been an awesome reader, so encouraging, so positive, and always offering support and a boost to my sense of worth. I am incredibly grateful.

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2018 12:22 PM · On: Chapter 12
Oh dear I loved the ending as sad as it was. I really enjoyed your story thank you for sharing it with us

Author's Response:

Aaaaaw, thank you! Awesome possum when someone likes my endings :D

Thanks so very much for reading this story, and for your comments. It's much appreciated!

Reviewer: wellreadbunny (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2018 09:56 AM · On: Chapter 12
I find the ending sad but very fitting . It is only time, so maybe we will see you again. I love reading and QAF fanfiction just filled a void in my life. I hope for this reason you continue to write it must fill a void in yours also.. Good luck and god speed.

Author's Response:

Hi! Yes, I do find the ending sad as well. I was trying to go for this mix of sad/angsty/bittersweet...I just felt that a happier ending would not be in character for either Brian or Justin.

Thanks ever so much for reading and reviewing, and that you enjoyed this trip :)

Reviewer: Happy Gamma (Signed) · Date: January 16, 2018 02:32 AM · On: Chapter 12

So sorry that you are leaving.  I am fairly new to reviewing.  Had problems with remembering my login.  But, I do try to review as often as possible now.  I sometimes wait until the end of the story to review because I have over 40 stories WIP that have been left in mid air.  It is extemely frustrating to the readers to start a story really get into it and never see it updated or completed.  Perhaps this is part of the reason for lack of reviews.  It is kind of like reading half of a book and something taking it away and no one can get a replacement for you.  As for this story, I found it very different, interesting and kept my attention. The ending was not what I would have wanted (I am a sucker for happy endings), but I thought it did give the reader the hope that someday, somewhere, they would meet again.  And, it was the end that the writer felt right with and that is what counts.  Good luck to you in whatever you do.



Author's Response:

Hi there!

Thanks a lot of reading and reviewing. I did figure that the ending would not be everyone's cup of tea.

As for WIP...at the very outset I had stated that this story was complete, and anyone can see that all my previous stories have been completed, with only one having a gap of several months to be completed. TBH, at this point, all the myriad of excuses just blend into one another. The message I've gotten is that readers can't be bothered to say 'thanks', and it's very disheartening. What encouragement is there to keep writing?

Another reason is that as an author, I am made to feel so guilty for wanting people to leave a comment on a story that they are so clearly reading. Not you, but I had a really vicious review a while back that I deleted, where it berated me for wanting readers to leave reviews. It seems strange that I should write, readers expect quality and timeliness, but I can't expect three or words in return.

Also, authors have many reasons for abandoning stories. I remember seeing a few here, with notes about the author having a personal crisis. Often, there are legitimate reasons. And sometimes, when you feel like there is no one out there reading or enjoying your work, there is zero motivation to keep pushing yourself to write.

Aaah well. All good things must come to an end!

I do hope that those who want to see a happy ending will see some hope in the ending, the same way you did!

Thanks again.

Reviewer: tiger062 (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 07:25 AM · On: Chapter 11

Finally getting a little time to catch up - My heart is still breaking for Justin and I'm so glad that Brian doesn't see the difference that Justin has had drilled into from the beginning of his life. Clone or not - he's still a person - and Brian is right - a hero. Shopping, popcorn and a movie - great 'normal' things to do. I could get into a long post about how every generation has people that others look to as expendible but I'll be good and refrain - your future clone world is so possible which should scare the hell out of people but then most don't notice it happening around them. We need more Brian's in our life - and if they are as good looking (who doesn't like something pretty to look at)- all the better.... Forgive me - the heat is getting to me (it's 34C - 93F) just a tad warm....LOL Looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

And it has taken me two whole weeks to respond, which is generally unpardonable, so please forgive me!

No need for you to refrain - EVER - from saying what you think and feel! And yes, the sad thing is, I based every little detail of Justin's dystopian future on things happening somewhere in this world, whether it is the U.S.A., India, or South Korea. Le sigh.

Next chapter coming up, and thank you SO much for sticking with this story, and for your wonderful reviews!

Reviewer: landlady_4rent (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2017 09:29 PM · On: Chapter 1
Jessica, I forgot to add that I loved the song you recommended. I listened to it, then I read the chapter. Hope you design a playlist for this fic.
It would be incredible. Thanks!

Author's Response:

:D So happy to hear that! I heard it on this incredibly sad and poignant episode of The Vampire Diaries.

I love your idea of a playlist, but I fear that I am way too shy about the music I listen to, to have the courage to post an entire playlist online. Sorry!

Reviewer: landlady_4rent (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2017 06:22 AM · On: Chapter 11
Now I feel like a whiney Shit! I'm all caught up now, and have to rely on your kindness to update.
Lol. I wanted to keep reading. I want Justin to feel better about himself. Poor thing. He's so pathetic. He just wants to have a normal life & eat some fucking popcorn. Lol. I want him to be happy. So sad.
Great update!
Happy New Year, Jessica!
Have pity on us poor souls dying here for an update! Ha!

Author's Response:

:D Whining is always welcome!

I *also* want poor Justin to be happy, which is a weird thing for me to say as the author writing this dreary story lol. Thanks so very much for your awesome comments, and I will be updating in a jiffy!

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2017 05:43 AM · On: Chapter 11
Poor Justin coming to terms with what he could have been, Brian is showing strength and for once in his life supporting and caring about someone else

Author's Response:

Hi,

Sorry it has taken me inordinately long to respond. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. What could have been, indeed. While Brian has had a door open to a whole new world, Justin gets to see the life he could have had. I hope you enjoy the last chapter that is coming up!

Reviewer: Enohvee1875 (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2017 09:23 PM · On: Chapter 11

Justin believes there is no light at the end of the tunnel and no future for him. But he is a real person to Brian who wants him to enjoy life and the right to be normal. This update was nicely done.



Author's Response:

you summed it up very nicely!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing :)

Reviewer: wellreadbunny (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2017 06:36 AM · On: Chapter 11
Awesome chapter. Poor Justin my heart just broke for him.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

I agree,things are really quite bleak for Justin :(

Reviewer: landlady_4rent (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2017 02:47 AM · On: Chapter 10
Great update. Poor Cloney Justin! I feel terrible for him. His teddy bear, the cyanide capsule around his neck, all he thinks about is his mission. So sad.
Biggest shock...running into REAL Justin. How is this going to play out.
Compelling Daphne was cool. Now Brian knows. Loved the 'fake' news reference. You're brilliant, Jessica. Thank You!
Hope you had a wonderful Christmas! Happy New Year to You! Hugs!

Author's Response:

Hi Annie,

I hope you had an awesome Christmas as well :)

What gets to me the most is the teddy bear (and you'll see why in the next chapter). The cyanide capsule was...when we started this story, Justin almost would have had to take it, if he hadn't managed a fairly violent escape.

Thanks so very much for reading this story, and for your wonderfully kind reviews. Thank you so very, very much!

Hope you have a fabulous 2018! *hugs*

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2017 01:21 AM · On: Chapter 11

Hi, my friend!  Was thrilled to see another chapter to this.  Such a bittersweet one, though!  My heart breaks for this Justin - trained to do a job, but at the same time experiencing the same feelings as humans.  I can clearly see his anguish in this chapter.  Bred to carry out a mission, but still unable to prevent wanting to be just 'an ordinary' person who likes simple things like popcorn and a movie.

I never thought I would feel this way, but right now I'm actually rooting for Brian and the clone Justin to be together.  How in the world you reconcile this I have no clue, unless there's a clone of Brian somewhere...but I'm intrigued as to how you will eventually resolve this. 

This is currently one of my favorites!  I hope you will update again soon.  Happy New Year!  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Hi Kim,

Yes, indeed this story becomes more and more angsty with each chapter. It's hard not to, though, given the theme. I really want to keep it 'real', within the context of this universe.

Justin, or indeed any of his team, could not have predicted the 'human' yearnings he would have, once coming here. And part of it is because Brian has accepted him as an equal, and as more than just a trainer. It's funny you bring up the popcorn; my beta mentioned, on an earlier chapter, how Justin takes such small things like Brian letting him sleep in to be such a valuable thing. Of course, he is as human as any of us.

For sure, the ending of this story will not be to everyone's liking, but honestly, it's what I think stays true to this Brian and Clone Justin.

Have a wonderful 2018 yourself!

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2017 12:15 AM · On: Chapter 11

Always great to have an update... but I wanted so desperately to keep scrolling to read more!!!!

Is the movie review Justin is reciting based on a real movie?

Hopefully, Brian will be able to completely calm Justin. He does have a real connection to the awful "I'm less than," feeling. Justin can take some solace in the fact that Brian really does understand.

Have a Happy New Year!



Author's Response:

It is, in fact, a real review of the film "Better Watch Out". You can find the review here: https://www.theverge.com/2017/10/3/16375490/better-watch-out-horror-movie-review-halloween

Thanks so very much for reading and reviewing. It's always a great feeling to see feedback.

You are so right, that Justin and Brian here have a lot of common ground emotionally speaking, even though their backgrounds are so very different.

Thanks so very much for your lovely review, and wishing you all the best for 2018!

Reviewer: hikinggirl70 (Signed) · Date: December 29, 2017 12:06 AM · On: Chapter 11

That was great.



Author's Response:

:D

Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2017 01:37 AM · On: Chapter 10

Finally got a chance to read this. What an amazing story this is!  I am so hooked on it.  I really feel for Justin in this chapter.  Trained for a mission, and afraid to feel, but also realizing he is falling for this man who he has been ordered to find as his 'mission'.

The two are discovering more and more about each other, and becoming closer.  Both needing each other, but for different reasons.

I truly love this story!  And as always, I will eagerly be looking forward to your updates. Thank you for writing this.  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Hi Kim,

Aaaw, I am delighted that you are really enjoying this story. Given its nature, I honestly did not expect it!

I too really feel for Justin...I wonder what you'll say once you see how the next chapter unfolds.

Thanks so very much for your very kind and encouraging reviews :)

Reviewer: Enohvee1875 (Signed) · Date: December 13, 2017 11:55 PM · On: Chapter 10

Uh oh! Looks like Justin has some 'splaining to do. This is so exciting. Please update soon



Author's Response:

;)

Justin is forever having to explain secrets that he has kept hidden from Brian!

Thanks so very much for your review!

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: December 11, 2017 02:45 AM · On: Chapter 10

Great update! RL has been completely chaotic lately, so settling down to read this was a delight.

So much going on... I can't imagine how Brian is going to react to seeing the "real" Justin. I also like the "false" news/"fake" news reference, and how Brian and Justin seem so comfortable together at the loft - even though Justin isn't. The chat about Justin's bed was great. I liked the dinner with the girls too.

Justin noticed that Brian automatically said "we" when accepting the brunch date... I wonder if he noticed that he just asked Brian to take him "home."

As always, anxiously awaiting the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Sorry for the late response - my browser decided to have a tantrum and refuse to log me in :)

As always, thanks so very much for reading and reviewing!

Brian's reaction will be very interesting (I hope), and Justin's too I hope shall be surprising yet IC.

I love that you noticed how comfy the two are together, and how Brian and Justin each have begun to think of each other as unit.

Reviewer: landlady_4rent (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2017 10:25 PM · On: Chapter 9
Wow, just Wow!
Love this story so much.
Love Clone Justin. I don't know how you are going to resolve Two Justin's, but I'm ready for the ride. Lol. This Clone Justin is so smart & fearless. Happy Brian came to help him out, even though Clone Justin is more than capable to handle any situation. I want to hug him so bad. Something tells me Clone Justin is going to go through some major shit before this is over.
Thank you for posting, Jessica! Hugs to you, Annie

Author's Response:

Aaaaw, thank you so much for saying that Annie!

I'm glad that you like Cloney. I've grown really fond of writing him. He's one of my favourite Justins. You are completely right - Justin has a lot of emotional events in store for him before this drama is over.

I'm really grateful for your reviews and kind reviews. Thank you!

Reviewer: hikinggirl70 (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2017 07:03 PM · On: Chapter 10

Wow that was a cool twist of fate. I love that Brian realized that Justin was using the compel trick on Daphane. 

I wonder what Brian is thinking when he saw two Justins.



Author's Response:

Hi there!

What will Brian do, indeed!

I feel bad for poor Cloney, but Brian has been left to think on his feet ever since Cloney walked into his life. And now he sees two of them!

Thank you so very much for still reading and reviewing :)

You must login ( register ) to review.
>
View Site in Mobile | Classic
Share by: