Midnight Whispers
; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
Reviews For Ted's Got Talent
Reviewer: JustinsMom (Signed) · Date: December 07, 2017 07:42 AM · On: Setting the Stage

Nice to see a story showing the strong good person Ted was becoming.  I was so happy when QAF U.S. kept Ted(Phil) alive.? The commercial WOW loved it That's one commercial I'd love to watch. Great story loved it.

Reviewer: confused_bliss (Signed) · Date: August 25, 2017 11:05 PM · On: Encore

I finally found a small block of time to do some reading, and I completed what I must refer to as a 'gem' in one sitting. This was brilliant. I loved every syllable in this story. I adore Brian/Ted bantering scenes at the office. It was so well done I could actually hear Brian snarking at Ted, and Ted giving as much back as he felt the nerve to do, in his own sarcastic wit. I loved how Ted told the story. It gave such a fresh spin on everything. And again, they were so much IC. Between the office, the audition, the commercials, etc... I felt I could see this all played out with their faces and voices. Amazing job on that!

The sex in the final chapter was smoldering. I don't think either of them could have lasted much longer - no matter who ended up initiating it. This was such a fun and beautiful read, Karynn. Thanks so much for writing it. I look forward to your future writings - even if I have to play catch up.

*Hugs*

Janet 



Author's Response:

I'm thrilled - and blushing - at your glowing review, Janet. *happy, happy dance* :D

I wasn't sure how this tale would be received, since I took a chance on telling a good part of it from Ted's POV. Some readers prefer only to read about Brian and Justin. I ship them myself - as I'm sure you can tell, lol - but it's interesting to approach a story from a different angle/POV.

Thanks for letting me know that you thought the bantering between Ted and Brian was in character - that you could actually hear their give and take.

The audition and the commercial were so much fun to write; I felt like I was there with our beloved QAF family. :)

What a compliment that you thought the sex in the final chapter was 'smouldering'. You're one of the fandom queens at drawing your readers into scorching hot scenes, so it means a lot to me to receive such praise from you.

You're probably right that those two couldn't have stayed away from each other much longer. That persistent blond was better at initiating contact, though.

Thanks again for the wonderful comments - and for making time in your hectic schedule to read and review.

*hugs you back*

~ Karynn

Reviewer: Suse (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2017 10:25 PM · On: Encore

Great little story. Loved hearing it from Ted's perspective. His performance on AGT seemed so real, I could really envision the gang and their reactions. Of course any makeup sessions between Justin and Brian always get the juices flowing. Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

Your comments have me grinning so happily! :) I'm thrilled you enjoyed this tale. I had some trepidation at first, since I took a chance telling the story partly from Ted's perspective; many readers prefer stories that concetrate on Brian and Justin. So, I'm chuffed you gave it a chance and that Ted's POV added to the story for you.

I was watching snippets from AGT and BGT on YouTube when the idea for this story popped into my head; after that, it wouldn't leave me alone. Ted's one of my favorite characters - really, I love all the MCs; the show wouldn't be the same if any of them weren't there. In any case, Ted's growing friendship is one of the few things I like about season 5, when the show largely went off the rails for me. Then again, there probably wouldn't be as much fanfiction for us to read if we didn't want to 'fix' various things.

I'm especially made up that Ted's performance on AGT and the family's reactions were so real for you. That and the pick-up football game - and the rest of the story, lol - were a lot of fun to write.

Thanks for reading and reviewing, Suse!

~ Karynn

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: August 16, 2017 12:51 PM · On: Encore
Oh I loved it I found it so well written and very funny at times thank you

Author's Response:

Thank you for the lovely comments, Chris! :)

I'm absolutely thrilled that the story impressed you as both well written and very funny in parts - most definitely two of my goals.

*happy dancing my way through the morning*

~ Karynn

Reviewer: LauraB725 (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2017 12:43 PM · On: Encore

I'm so happy the boys found their way back to each other. I'm not surprised, it is only time afterall ?. Loved the commercial, sounded like lots of fun. I really enjoyed this story. Great job!



Author's Response:

Thanks for commenting on the finale, Laura. I'm chuffed you enjoyed this tale so much. :)

There was no way I could leave our boys languishing for each other, especially after all of Ted's efforts. You're the first one to mention, "It's only time," in regard to this fic. That has me smiling happily. :D

I'm glad I was able to transfer the way I envisioned the commercial into writing - and especially pleased that you liked the way it played out.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2017 11:51 AM · On: Encore
Always this problem of communication between them that push them to separate on a misunderstanding but the reunion sex scene is very hot!!! I would have liked to see the advertising with our super Emmett! I like the end B and J together and soon married! Maybe another story with the wedding and honeymoon ? ha ha thank You this story was amazing !

Author's Response:

I think the boys are finally communicating clearly - about time, huh? Alois and I went back and forth a number of times as we searched for a believable reason - especially one that hadn't already been used multiple times - for their split. Justin kissing someone else was a major issue for Brian, even if he wouldn't admit it. Interestingly, although their rules were defunct, we never saw Brian kiss another trick post-fiddler.

I'm thrilled you enjoyed the reunion scene. I debated about the sex against the door, but I figured it suited our two studs, who couldn't keep their hands off each other, as usual, in the heat of the moment. :D

Yay! You liked the commercial and Em's touchdown. I cann just see that famous gap-toothed smile of his, as Drew pushed him across the goal line. I'll submit that idea if we can ever get a reboot of the show, lol.

There's definitely a trend with requests for a sequel, which is extremely flattering. No plans for that right now, but in the future, who knows? For the moment, I plan to (mostly) concentrate on Tricky Business with Brynn_Jones.

Thanks for reviewing, Marie-france. :) I very much appreciate your support for this tale.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2017 01:31 AM · On: Encore

Loved the description of the gang's Super Bowl commercial... it sounds like so much fun

I'm glad the boys figured out the way back to each other... a little surprised to see the wedding rings show up at the end and the fact that Brian had plans to marry Justin the year before!

Great job!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the lovely review, Trish. :) I'm glowing at your praise.

I'm chuffed I was able to write the Super Bowl commercial as I envisioned it. It was a blast to write.

With a big assist from Ted, the boys finally figured it out. :D Brian had been holding on to those wedding rings for three years and, finally, success! Alois was instrumental in helping me craft that final scene - we're thrilled we managed to surprise you.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2017 10:25 PM · On: Encore

Congratulations on finishing your story, Karynn!  Loved the unique twist of using Ted mainly as the storyteller, and the commericial that was done, indicating how far gay rights had advanced.

And that sex scene in the hotel was hot, hot, hot! 

Really enjoyed this one.  I'll be looking forward to anything else you (hopefully) write in the future. Thank you for posting this on here.  :)  We are blessed to have you as a writer. ~Kim



Author's Response:

Thanks for the congratulations, Kim. :) I'm really pleased with the way this story turned out.

I'm chuffed you appreciate the unique twist of using Ted to tell a good part of the story. I knew I was taking a chance doing that, but this tale has been quite well received, even so.

It was fun to turn Leo into a truly good guy and have him use the family to champion gay rights.

*happy dance* that you enjoyed the sex scene. I debated about the animalistic sex against the door, but I decided it suited the intensity of the moment. I wonder how much sleep the boys actually got that night... :D

It was my pleasure to post on MW, my rant about reviews aside, although that does seem to have had the desired result, lol. For now, I'll mostly concentrate on Tricky Business, the story I'm writing with Brynn_Jones, but we do have other ideas on the back burner, both individually and together. :)

I'm off to bask in all the amazing praise for this story. Thanks for fostering a site where authors can publish, Kim.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: mcm (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2017 09:34 PM · On: Setting the Stage

GAWD that reunion sceen was HOTT !!

Please write us another one :)



Author's Response:

I'm chuffed you enjoyed the reunion scene... that it was as hot as I intended. :D

What a lovely compliment that you want me to write another one. <3 It's the end of this tale for now, but who knows what the future will bring? For now, I'll mostly concentrate on Tricky Business with Brynn_Jones. We also have a few other ideas in the works, individually and as co-authors. :)

Thanks for reviewing the grand finale, Teresa!

~ Karynn

Reviewer: Camlaw (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2017 08:57 PM · On: Encore

Awww! The reunion sex was so hot and animalistic. And jealous Brian is reminiscent of Brian in Season 2 during the creation of Rage... impulsive, hurt and volatile...

I would have LOVED to have seen that commercial. Sounds like a beautiful and fun experience was captured.

Ted deserves Brian's appreciation.  He had the guts to take the chance to help his boss and dear friend. And look how happy Brian is now... WTG Ted!

Amazing propsal! Third time most definitely is the charm... This fic was so wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing...



Author's Response:

Thanks for such an amazing review, Carrie! I'm blushing at all your praise. :)

I'm so glad you found the reunion sex hot. I thought the animalism of Brian taking Justin against the door was appropriate for our boys... at least for the start of their reunion sex. You're the second person to make that correlation between jealous Brian of season two and Brian in this chapter. This time, fortunately, Brian and Justin talked things out.

I'm chuffed that I did the commercial justice in transferring it from my brain to the story. I think the family had as much fun playing as I did writing. :D

Ted deserves lots of huzzahs - such an incredible friend. <3

Alois, my dear half brain and beta, was instrumental in helping me craft the final scene, so I'll thank you on behalf of both of us.

I'm off to dance around spastically for joy over your comments, lol.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2017 07:48 PM · On: Encore

You did it, you did it.  You wrote a wonderful tale and helped the gay rights movement with a fantastic touchdown by our own Emmett Honeycutt.  Bravo!!  Now you'll have to do one on Brian and Justin's wedding.



Author's Response:

Aw, thanks for the congratulations, Phyllis! *happy, happy dance* I really appreciate your support for this story. <3

Anyone who has Emmett in their life is lucky! And I agree that he's a great advocate for gay rights.

There seems to be a bit of a theme with requests for Brian and Justin's wedding. This is the end for now, but who knows what the future will bring? :)

~ Karynn

Reviewer: tiger062 (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2017 08:54 AM · On: It's All in the Presentation

Go Ted. Great to see his 'plans' working out. Now just to get Brian and Justin talking. Love the backdrop.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing, Monica! Every comment on this story has me beaming. :)

Ted is such a fantastic friend. Now that Justin and Brian are in Chicago together - and since Justin finally knows what caused Brian to shut him out - here's hoping he'll be able to get that stubborn brunet to listen to him. Didn't work at the theater, so we'll have to see what he tries next.

Alois is not only the best beta ever, she's also an amazing artist - Justin couldn't have painted that stage set without her. :D

All will be revealed in the finale, which I'll post this coming Saturday.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: mcm (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2017 01:25 AM · On: It's All in the Presentation

OK all caught up

I like that you have made this about Ted and have included the "family" Cyn included. Left most of the B/J drama aside and focused on a new twist.

You have the girls back w our Gussy,Drew/Em together

It would be interesting to see if you can spin something w/Leo's grandson getting inducted into the "family".

Love what you have going here and thank you for taking the time to write this for us  :)

Love the painting Alois

Em's Company name is awsome Saje



Author's Response:

I'm glowing from your wonderful review, Teresa! :)

I'm chuffed you like the family feel to the fic; that's just what I was aiming for. Of course, I didn't leave out the Brian-Justin drama entirely, lol, but it does give Ted an opportunity to help his friends.

No matter how I try, I just can't see the girls staying in Canda; if anything, moving there would exacerbate their problems rather than resolving them.

I really like Drew and Em together. I believe Em has a core of steel and that Drew is damned lucky to have him.

Hold that thought about Austin...

Alois is quite the artist, as well as an amazing beta. I can hear her laughing hysterically again about the artist appelation, but Justin could never have painted that stage set without her. :D

I love the name Saje came up with for Emmett's business - definitely have to use it in more than one story.

The finale will be up this coming Saturday, and all will be revealed.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: mcm (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2017 12:30 AM · On: Interlude

:) Loving this  :)



Author's Response:

Yay! Another review on chapter 2, which has been lagging behind the other chapters. :)

I'm so glad you're enjoying this fic. I knew I was taking a chance in telling this story partly from Ted's POV, since many readers prefer only a Brian-Justin romance, although that isn't exactly lacking in this story, lol. So, thanks for taking a chance on Ted. :D

Your comments are much appreciated, Teresa.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: mcm (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2017 11:22 PM · On: Setting the Stage

Yay!! Playful Ted and Cyn



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for leaving a comment on the first chapter, Teresa. :)

Ted and Cyn make great cohorts - and coconspirators. Watch out Brian! lol

~ Karynn

Reviewer: marie-france (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2017 12:30 PM · On: It's All in the Presentation
I just start reading the story and I like it Can't wait to see how all ends : the commercial and Brian and Justin it's seem it has a misunderstanding beetween them. Ted is a good friend! Thank you And I love all Alois work and her "painting" too !!!

Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing, Marie-france. It's great to hear from you. :)

You're right, Brian and Justin have had a serious misunderstanding. Ted has paved the way for a reconciliation by getting both of them to Chicago. Now that Justin knows what caused caused Brian to cut him off, we'll have to see if our favorite blond can convince Brian to listed to him.

Ted is an amazing friend, and now he's an opera sensation - so well deserved!

Isn't Alois an incredible artist? She keeps snickering about that every time she reads the comments. :D

All will be revealed in the finale, which will be posted this coming Saturday. I'm looking forward to your opinion of the last chapter.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: Toto_too514 (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2017 02:07 AM · On: It's All in the Presentation

What a fun chapter! So happy for Ted and that the entire family was there for him! 

Hope to see Brian & Justin start to work things out soon!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing, Trish! Every new review has me smiling like a loon. :D

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter! Ted is earning some richly deserved recognition and growing in self-confidence. Between him, Leo Brown, and Cynthia, they came up with quite the masterful plan to get the whole family to Chicago.

Those two stubborn men - I keep sighing over them, lol. We'll have to see if Justin can make Brian listen, now that he knows just what caused the split.

The finale will be up this coming Saturday, and everything will be revealed. :)

~ Karynn

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2017 06:50 PM · On: It's All in the Presentation

Ingenious idea, having Ted audition for AGT.  And I think there's been some conspiracy here to deliberately keep B and J away from each other.  Hmm...wonder who could be behind that?

I could just see Brian complaining about his seating accommodations on board a flight, especially with those long legs.  I'm enjoying seeing a more confident Ted in this story. He was getting there toward the end of Season 5, but it's nice to see him here as well.

Don't get discouraged, ladies! I know that's easier said than done, but you are all wonderful writers, and I for one would hate to see you stop writing.  Perhaps part of the lack of reviews on this one is because they are not paying enough attention to the synopsis, looking at the title and banner and thinking it's more of a 'Ted' story, which typically would get less reviews (not just Ted; ANY 'non B/J involved stories,' which this one certainly is not.  There is plenty of interaction between them as well. 

Anyway, thank you for posting this. I hope we can enjoy more stories to come from all of you - whether individually or together. 

And that last photo is cute!  Was it a pre-drawn coloring book page that Alois 'painted?'  Or did she actually draw it? Was a little confused there.  But she did a good job, and the colors chosen were perfect. Thanks again. ~Kim



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing this fic again, Kim. :)

I'm glad you enjoyed my premise for this fic. I was watching a snippet of AGT on YouTube, and suddenly the notion of Ted auditioning popped into my head... and then the plot bunny kept hopping around, insisiting, Write me! Write me!

There's not necessarily a consipiracy to keep Brian and Justin apart... just hurt feelings, a massive misunderstanding, and two stubborn men.

Sardine class is absolutely miserable for Brian with his long legs - and rotten attitude, lol.

I, too, love seeing Ted gain confidence and get the recognition he truly deserves, and earns. <3

No worries. I will persevere with writing. It's just difficult not to get disheartened when there are few reviews. Fortunately, the number of comments (for this chapter, anyhow) has been increasing since my latest rant on FB, lol. I knew I was taking a chance, telling the story partly from Ted's POV, but I tried to reflect in the summary that the story is also about Brian and Justin. *sigh* I know you're right that many readers want only Brian-Justin romance. Not to toot my own horn, but I think they're missing out if they don't give this fic a chance.

That comment about Alois 'painting' the stage set for Justin was intended to be a bit tongue-in-cheek, lol. She did a wonderful job of fitting the photos together. I'm so lucky to have such a wonderful beta - and artist. I can hear Alois laughing herself silly over being called an artist. hahahaha

The finale will be posted this coming Saturday, and all will be revealed. :)

~ Karynn

Reviewer: LauraB725 (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2017 06:19 PM · On: It's All in the Presentation

Good grief Brian and Justin need to get on the same page pronto! So stubborn both of them. I'm loving this confident Ted, he's awesome! Great chapter, looking forward to the next one. Kudos to Alois on the backdrop, excellent job!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing, Laura! I was smiling happily as I read your comments. :)

Let's hope Ted has nudged Brian and Justin just enough, as well as placing them in proximity to each other, for those two stubborn men to talk - and reconcile.

Thanks for loving Ted in this story! I took a chance writing this story partly from Ted's POV, since many readers prefer straightforward Brian-Justin romance. I don't mean to brag, but I think readers who don't give this fic a chance are missing out. :p

Ted has really earned the recognition at AGT, and it definitely gives his self-confidence another boost. <3

My beta - and artist - is the best ever. Mind you, I can hear Alois laughing at the artist bit, but the backdrop she 'painted' is superb.

The finale, in which all will be revealed will be up this coming Saturday. I'm looking forward to hearing your opinion. :)

~ Karynn

Reviewer: Camlaw (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2017 03:05 PM · On: It's All in the Presentation

OMG! I laughed at the tuxedo underwear nightmare. Bowtied penis? HA!

OK....sounds like one MAJOR misunderstanding occurred between Brian and Justin. Both thinking the other abandoned him. Stop being so evil and spill already! :p

Yea Ted! I LOVE confident yet humbled Ted ( as opposed to cocky and obnoxious Ted in season 3 ). I'm so happy that he's bold enough to try things outside of his comfort zone and is so successful at it. Securing the Leo Brown account, winning the preliminary round of the talent show, & even in playing match maker. 

Can't wait to see how it all ends...oh and to see how the commercial shoot goes. :)



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing again, Carrie. You have me doing a happy dance!

I'm glad the bowtied undies made you laugh. You're only the second reviewer to comment on poor Justin's nightmare. :D

We'll have to see if Ted has provided enough of a push, as well as the opportunity, for Brian and Justin to reconcile. *evil author cackling that you're still on tenterhooks*

Ted really deserves all the recognnition at AGT, and you're right that he finally has the proper self-confidence to deal with it. I love that he's now Leo Brown's go-to man - as compared to playing that part for Brian to secure a partnership at Vangard.

The finale will be up this coming Saturday and all will be revealed. Looking foward to hearing your opinion. :)

~ Karynn

Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2017 12:47 AM · On: It's All in the Presentation
Oh dear could Brian be more bloody obstinate just give Justin a few minutes to talk and listen. Amazing Ted has become a superstar and a confident man like Brian but without Brian's snark and wounding ways. Love the backdrop it sums up the original scene so well

Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing again, Chris! Reading your comments made me so happy. :)

I'm afraid Brian has fallen back on his standard response when he's feeling insecure. I'm rooting for Justin to track him down and make him listen. Hmm, how might our favorite artist manage that...

Ted is one of my favorite characters from the show. And, yes, he definitely has a kinder, gentler side than Brian... but he'll never forget that he has Brian to thank for taking a chance on him.

Yay! I'm thrilled that you like Alois' painted backdrop as much as I do. :D

The grand finale will be up next Saturday.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 11:25 PM · On: It's All in the Presentation

Love this chapter and how much Leo wants Ted for his go-to guy.  It's a shame that Brian and Justin aren't having as much fun as everyone else.  It sound like whatever drove them apart they are seeing from two different sides.  That Ted won is amazing!  And the backdrop works so well!  Bravo! Both to the writer and the artist.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the lovely feedback, Phyllis, and for supporting this story. I'm grinning happily. :D

I'm really glad you appreciate this fic, which is partly from Ted's POV. Many readers prefer only Brian and Justin, but I wanted to try something a bit different.

I had so much fun writing Leo requesting Ted for his liaison at Kinnetik. Just a bit of a change from when Brian held Leo over Vance Gardner's head to sequire a partnership, lol.

As always, there are two sides to any situation, especially when it involves Brian and Justin. Sheesh, those two stubborn men. *shaking my head*

Ted has a wonderful voice for opera - and now he really knows it. :)

Alois will be pleased to know you appreciate her painting skills, hahahaha. I'm beyond thrilled with what she created.

All will be revealed - and maybe resolved - in the final chapter.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: Camlaw (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2017 02:38 AM · On: Interlude

Wow Saje! That really is a clever name for Emmett's business.

Poor Justin! They're trying to kill him with work. Really curious as to WHY Brian pulled away from him.

Really looking forward to the next chapter....



Author's Response:

That name Saje came up with is so perfect for Em's business. I'll have to use it in more than one story! :)

It's amazing how much Justin can juggle, but he's going to have to catch up on his sleep sometime.

The reason Brian cut Justin out of his life will be revealed... eventually. *evil author cackles as she runs from the virtual rotten tomatoes thrown by readers who want to know NOW*

Thanks for another wonderful review, Carrie! The next chapter will be up this coming Saturday.

~ Karynn

Reviewer: YumYumPM (Signed) · Date: July 30, 2017 02:53 PM · On: Interlude

Looks like Ted and Cynthia have everything in hand.  Brian needs to figure out what he wants.  Love all the pics and Saje's naming Em's new business.  Looking forward to all the ways you come up with to make this work!



Author's Response:

Oh, wow, you've reviewed on two sites again, Phyllis! You've given my first review for this chapter on MW, so a special thank you goes out to you. <3

I think Brian knows what he wants - he just needs to be 'reminded' by his friends, lol.

Thank you for mentioning that you like the graphics in this chapter; I tried to choose just the right pics. Saje did indeed come up with the perfect name for Em's business.

More this coming Saturday. :)

~ Karynn

Reviewer: Camlaw (Signed) · Date: July 30, 2017 01:30 PM · On: Setting the Stage

I LOVE this idea. And anything with Ted as the main character just immediately intrigues me. Can't wait to see how his plans work out!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing, Carrie! You've made me smile on this Sunday morning. :)

I'm thrilled that I've intrigued you. The second chapter is up; I hope you like it as much as the first one.

Ted is one of my faves from the show, although I liked most of the characters. Ted's developing friendship with Brian in season 5 is one of the few things I like about that season.

~ Karynn

You must login ( register ) to review.
>
View Site in Mobile | Classic
Share by: