Midnight Whispers
; Midnight Whispers :: QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
Midnight Whispers
QAF Fanfiction - Brian and Justin - SSL Encrypted - Mobile
Reviews For For the love of Kai
Reviewer: eureka1 (Signed) · Date: June 28, 2015 10:51 PM · On: FINAL CHAPTER (improved)

I'm a newcomer to QAF and the fan fiction spawned by the show.  Thanks for the touching and engaging rendition of how Justin and Brian's story might have developed.  Well done!

Reviewer: landlady_4rent (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2013 07:45 AM · On: Fresh air
I adored this story. It gave me 2 weeks of amazing bedtime reading. Beautifully written. Very informative. Brian's cancer arc was touching. I'm sorry that the story has ended. It has been a wonderful ride. Thank you for writing it. Hugs! Annie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review. I really appreciate your comments! Hugs, Snow
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2013 07:42 AM · On: Chapter 31: there was a time when...
“The two men stand there for several moments, and Justin feels reminiscent of a time similar regarding a certain bracelet.”

I hadn’t thought about that incident from that aspect. Justin could have been extending the bracelet as a peace offering or a way to ask to renew the relationship. Interesting.

“Brian accepted Kai as he was.”

Perfect.
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2013 07:33 AM · On: Chapter 30: a little ray
"What's wrong with him?"

I cringe just reading that. Children are labeled from early on.

"You're a good kid, Kai. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise."

That was the most important thing Justin could have taught Kai.
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2013 07:25 AM · On: Chapter 29: tapping shoes
He told us to call you because he was busy with meetings...

It’s just hard to believe that he feels nothing for his own child. I can't imagine what goes on when he has to take care of him at night.
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:58 PM · On: Chapter 28: a taste of distate in a state of grace
"Brian grins as he comes face to face with one of Justin's compressed charcoal sticks."

LOL!
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:57 PM · On: Chapter 27: soar
"He isn't that surprised that Craig would hang up so abruptly..."

It shows just how much Justin loves Kai that he puts up with Craig.
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:55 PM · On: Chapter 26: peach in the orchard
"You are his father. He is your responsibility! Grow the fuck up!"

Justin did read Craig up and down and then had to take his money. But after I gave it some thought, he should have gotten more.
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:52 PM · On: Chapter 25: inscribe the undescribe
"I am so fucked."

Brian was hilarious searching frantically for something of Justin's.

Author's Response: LOL ! :)
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:49 PM · On: Chapter 24: bridge over troubled water
With all their faults, Brian's family does love him.
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:47 PM · On: Chapter 23: you may delay, but time will not
"ound."

That was heartwarming to read. Kai is just adorable.
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:45 PM · On: Chapter 22: undertones in bloom
"I'm an idiot."

Justin would not have made that voicemail if he had not have been missing Brian, mad at him or not.
Reviewer: no sleep (Anonymous) · Date: March 16, 2013 01:15 PM · On: Chapter 21: clear as mud

I so happy Justin was fed up with jumping through hoops and did nt fall for Emmett's trick.



Author's Response: Justin finally grew up! ;)
Reviewer: no sleep (Anonymous) · Date: March 16, 2013 01:08 PM · On: Chapter 20: short and sweet

I fell in love with Justin in this chapter.



Author's Response: Thank you! :)
Reviewer: Al (Anonymous) · Date: March 16, 2013 01:04 PM · On: FINAL CHAPTER (improved)

Love Love this story!  Hope to see more stories about how Kai is doing.



Author's Response: Thank you, Al! I'm glad you liked this :)
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:37 AM · On: Chapter 19: another warm day in the city of cold hearts
Craig probably does'nt even talk to the child. He seemed pretty happen to be in daycre though.

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments!
Reviewer: Bigdogz09 (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:29 AM · On: FINAL CHAPTER (improved)

This was a wonderful read.  I read your Spring contest entry and had to come over here and read the original Kai story.  My eyes are burning because i read it straight through. 

Truly, a touching and sweet fic.  Loved it!

All the best,

Laura H.



Author's Response: Thank you so much, Laura! That means a lot to me :) I'm so glad you enjoyed this story. It will always hold a special place in my heart :) Hugs, Snow
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:27 AM · On: Chapter 18: here comes the sun
"Christina left the day he was diagnosed."

That was painful to read. I just can’t imagine a mother doing that.

“I couldn't stand him."

"Kai is your son, Craig! You can't just dismiss him because he has autism."

What vile man. It’s a shame that there are men out there just like him. He was willing to let Kai just vegetate. I was near tears at this point in the story.

Author's Response: Sadly, this happens more often that one might think. It's really sad, but often when a child receives a diagnosis, if the parents aren't on the same page...if they both aren't on board with what happens next...and often, before the diagnosis is even given, when one parent is putting all the blame on the other....I've seen many marriages broken because of it. It's really sad. That's not to say that I haven't seen marriages become stronger...because I have! But other times, you have people like Craig who put the child raising on Christina and blamed her for everything...and then Christina leaving them both...and Craig left to care for a child he doesn't care about.
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:14 AM · On: Chapter 17: how much we should sing this song?
Ted was still not being helpful.

Author's Response: LOL Ted is Ted...lol
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:12 AM · On: Chapter 16: Baby Blues
"Brian frowns, feeling like he's in the middle of an afterschool special."

LOL!!! Ted wasn't much help.

"Ooo Ooo."

Brings back memories. I remember when my child cried because he wanted his stuffed rabbit. At the time, only my mother could understand him. I understand Justin's frustration and his elation over discovering just what Kai wanted.
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 10:02 AM · On: Chapter 15: Everybody's looking for something
"Oh, did you get a testicle ripped out of you too?"

HA! Loved the confrontation.

"...but it's an entirely different offense to ignore a two-year old."

Justin was never one for injustice, but I also felt Justin saw himself in Kai.

Author's Response: LOL That was a fun confrontation to write :) And yes, Justin definitely sees some of himself in Kai, and how Craig's relationship is towards both of them.
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 09:57 AM · On: Chapter 14: All's fair
"Ready to take a stand. A stand for his friend."

You go Ted! I love this Ted. He became a true friend.

"It didn't feel like a home."

It was so sad that Justin came to look at his father in a different light and it did not make Craig look pretty.

This is an amazing story!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I'm so glad you're enjoying this story :)
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 09:52 AM · On: Chapter 13: Hilt
Debbie only did what she though was right.

Ted's a good friend.

Why was the name 'Kai" used?

Author's Response: The characteristics of Kai is based on several of my former students...but I didn't want the toddler to share any of their names....I've never worked with a "Kai," and I've always loved the name....so "Kai" was born :)
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 09:47 AM · On: Chapter 12: The sum of us
It’s so funny how it takes a while to really notice something is wrong. Each child is so different. It’s also easy to go into denial.

There was no way Debbie could handle Brian’s cancer on her own.

Author's Response: Absolutely! Denial is a beautiful thing. In fact, I've worked with some children whose parents are occupational therapists or pediatricians...and still, they didn't see the red flags in their own children. Knowing how every child is different, and some are just late bloomers, makes it a real struggle for parents to sift through and see what's typical and what's not.
Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: March 15, 2013 07:20 AM · On: Chapter 11: Bygones
Debbie was perfect for the job. rian needed someone strong enough to deal with his drama.
You must login ( register ) to review.
>
View Site in Mobile | Classic
Share by: